The facts about gay marriage

Facts and stats about gay marriage – who supports gay marriage, who identifies as LGBT, gay marriage and the military, and more.

Facts & Stats: Where is it legal

– Nine states plus the District of Columbia currently allow same-sex marriage: Connecticut, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Vermont and Washington.

– Three more states will legalize gay marriage this summer: Delaware on July 1, 2013 and Minnesota and Rhode Island on August 1, 2013.

– Thirty-six states ban same-sex marriage in their state constitutions or by state law.

– New Jersey and New Mexico do not have bans against same-sex marriage nor laws to allow it.

– Gay couples have been able to marry in Massachusetts for nine years.

– Massachusetts was the first state to allow gay marriage.

– The Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court ruled in November 2003 that it was unconstitutional for same-sex couples to be banned from marrying. It began allowing gay marriages on May 17, 2004.

– Gay marriage was legal in California for 142 days before voters banned it with Proposition 8.

– About 18,000 couples were married In California during that 142 day window.

– Civil unions, which grant couples most of the rights of state civil marriages but not federal benefits, are legal in Colorado, Hawaii, Illinois and New Jersey.

– Fifteen other countries, and parts of Mexico, have laws that allow same-sex marriage and domestic partnerships. Most of these countries are in Europe and South America.

The Facts About Gay Marriage
Image compliments of Best Counseling Degrees

Related Posts:

One Response to “The facts about gay marriage”

  1. how to text girls you like

    The facts about gay marriage – Lesbian Dating

Leave a Reply